Gallery

Eclectic, Yes, But Not Wiccan

Strange but true. If I see a Wiccan class for a hundred bucks or so,  I’ll say, “Why should I pay for that class when I can get that knowledge from a book at a much cheaper price? Besides I’m Eclectic, not Wiccan.”  On the other hand, if I see a Wiccan class for an at-your-discretion donation, I’ll say, “It’s always nice to see if I can learn something. I’ll just kick in the donation and drop in. Besides, those folks can probably use a couple of bucks.”  Nevermind the second group may have more cash than the first group. The second group strikes me as engaging in a labor of love. The first group strikes me in engaging in an opportunity.

Quirky judgement aside, I attended my first Wiccan class yesterday. The knowledge wasn’t new — if you’ve read one book on witchcraft, then you know that witchcraft predates Christianity, and Christian temples seemed to pop up on pagan holy sites.  The truly interesting things came from the teacher’s experience and knowledge that weren’t related to witchery at first glance.  For example, I had no idea that one of the Mormon temples depicted Jesus in his feminine aspect. Also, I wasn’t sure how the Templars, who crusaded for the Church, found themselves on the business side of the Church’s crossbow. According to the teacher, our present credit system is based on the credit system formed by the Templars. Maybe the Church decided to cut out the middleman. The instructor shared his experiences with seances and assured the class Samhain was the best time to communicate with dead loved ones. I’ve yet to experience anything that has convinced me the living can relay messages from the dead. I suspect, however, there are people who have figured out  how to turn their knowledge of psychology and their acting skills into profit.

Unfortunately, the reverend/teacher would not commit to creating an autumn equinox salute/celebration for the class. Hopefully, he’ll be more receptive to a Samhain acknowledgement in two months.

4 responses to “Eclectic, Yes, But Not Wiccan

  1. I think must peoples opinion change about doing something chages with the price.

    Intersting face on Mormons. I did not know that

    • I didn’t know that either. I was under the impression that the Mormon path was pretty patriarchal. But then again, I have never sat down with a Mormon and thoroughly discussed where a goddess would fit into his or her faith.

  2. While I don’t really take classes anymore,I can say from the other side, I find it distasteful to charge to teach someone. Maybe a donation if I am providing materials but teaching someone about our faith should not (in my opinion) be something we charge for.

    • Agreed, Poppy Darling. I’m willing to go for a donation (as long as I get to decide how much I want to donate), and I’m willing to pay for a tangible product (and it has to be one fine-looking product, the likes of which mere me has never seen before. But then again I can be a cheap ass when the mood hits me). In my opinion — and this is just my opinion — I’m not in favor of teachers charging people some crazy fee for knowledge that can be gained from a book, and it’s best for the student to practice spell casting for herself or himself rather than the student pay to have someone cast a spell for him or her. If you’re going to learn to craft spells, then it’s best to learn what techniques work best for you.

This space is reserved for nice comments. This is not the crazy reader's comment box.

