Gallery

Entering the Season of Samhain

Thankfully, JH pulled a can of black pigment from his hat, which allows me to continue the project of pouring black, Samhain candles.* I had intended to use candlescience’s black dye wax chips, but the reviews for the black chips were consistently poor. Even a pic of the “black” candle showed a purple candle.  I had braced myself for the distasteful chore of mixing dyes to get a black hue when JH said I could use some of his pigment. After reading the label “for polyester and epoxy resins,” I expressed doubts, but he assured me the experiment would be worth it.

Why black candles? For one thing, they go nicely with the witchin’ season. For another, I think black candles are sexy and elegant, so that I burn them anytime I want to add sensuality in the air.  When I gaze at black candles, I don’t think about banishing evil. Naughty thoughts find their way into my mind, though.

Hopefully, I’ll join at least 1 blog party and offer a black Samhain candle and a bath sachet. I’m making the bath sachet, too — well, at least, I’m sprinkling a few drops of pure, essential oil over some herbs, and stuffing the herbs in a cotton, drawstring teabag.

A scented bath by candelight. How wicked is that!

*I’m still new at dyeing candles. The pic above shows my first attempt at dyeing. Now you know why I’m starting this project early.

2 responses to “Entering the Season of Samhain

  1. What an endeavour! I’ve never made my own candles so I have such admiration for those that do. I hope the pigment works great!

    • The pigment didn’t mix well with the soy wax, and a great deal of it seeped to the bottom of the candle — when JH cut the mold away from the candle, the bottom remained wet with the pigment while the remainder of the candle was solid. Right about this time, I’m starting to think that creating a black soy candle is a bit harder than I thought. Back to the drawing board. The next step will be mixing dyes or using the dreaded liquid dye. I say dreaded because I’ve been reading that the stuff smells awful and stains everything it touches.

      Anyway, once you get the hang of it (or in my case, back in practice,) making candles is a lot easier (and cheaper) than one might expect — if I don’t count my adventures with the black soy attempts. Stay within the pour temperatures, the temperature in which soy wax melts (so that you don’t cause a fire), and go lightly with the mold release, and you’ll have enough candles to give away as gifts. You may run out of space to keep the candles because you’ll have so many.

This space is reserved for nice comments. This is not the crazy reader's comment box.

