Gallery

Happy Solstice!

My goodness! I thought today was the Summer  Solstice — and I had decided yesterday (which was really the Solstice) that I would stay in today because  it would be too hot to do anything outside. Yesterday was uncomfortably warm and the hours long, which reinforced my belief today would be much of the same. Now it’s rainy, and unpaved roads have been reduced to lakes, which means I’m staying in after all. Not that the “to do” list is running short. The list contains (a) work on soft cloth witch doll and recycled box grimoire (b) learn how to paint and decorate fairy houses (c) finish reading Tolkien’s “The Hobbit” (this is the third time I’ve read the book and the first time I have appreciated Tolkien’s sense of setting, character development, and keen eye for building a story. For me, the story is a commentary on English culture, although I do not know if that was Tolkien’s intent. But when you’re an English lit professor, anything is possible)   and (d) begin reading Alexie’s “The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven,” Hemingway’s “A Moveable Feast,” and Maguire’s “Wicked.” Of course, I’m squeezing in my own attempt to write a novella in there. Even if the Solstice has gotten behind us, I don’t think it’s too late to read about the connection between Midsummer and the fairies.

True Confession: Although I’m not a big fan of fairy lore, I can’t resist a highly imaginative fairy house. A pal of mine created the fairy house shown in the pic and put it on consignment in a metaphysical gift shop. I fell in love with the sculpture  — its former home was an aquarium. I’ve read in the blogosphere that the sun has entered a water sign, so I suppose given the weather and the zodiac sign, an aquarium rock is fitting. Now her fairy house sits on my kitchen table. I added the crystals, stepping up the enchantment of the piece.

Now leave it to a Virgo to ask was the whole piece the fairy  house, or did the little painted birdhouse compose the fairy house and the remainder serve as a landscape of sorts. Why do Virgos ask questions that usually do not pop into the minds of the rest of us? The entire piece reminds me of a portal through which energies may pass as they please.

This space is reserved for nice comments. This is not the crazy reader's comment box.

