Gallery

Halloween Humpday: Murder on the Roof

I know my Humpday stories sound far-fetched, but at the moment, it’s easier to rely on memories than to think up stuff.

After reading Marfi’s Halloween Humpday post and the comments to her post, I recalled a Halloween-type episode that happened when I pulled a gig as a licensed practical nurse at an old folks’ home.

During that time, I worked the night shift. On some warm nights, crows would perch on the roof. I didn’t give this much thought until one night, more said birds than usual sat on the roof. Far from being settled, some flapped their wings as if trying to find a comfortable spot. As though not wishing to overlook any clues that signaled a  feathery party would erupt at any second, others seemed quite alert to what their buddies were doing.  Though not perched wing to wing, each crow seemed strongly aware of how much space existed between himself and a fellow squatter. The travelers clearly wanted to keep a respectable distance from each other, but not one had any  intention  of giving up his selected spot.

“What’s gotten into those birds?” I noted the murder emitted a veil of electricity.

Having driven me to the job, JH answered, “They can smell death. Probably one of those old jokers in there is about to become a stiff.”

Despite my attempt to shrug off JH’s version of why the roof became a temporary layover for the crows, the explanation stayed with me.  I soon noticed the number of crows on the roof increased if a resident tottered on Death’s threshold. If one or two crows hung about, then nothing out of the ordinary would happen.  Four or more crows, however, guaranteed The Grim Reaper would make a pit stop at the nursing home within a week. Eventually, I regarded the connection  between crows and Death as a matter of course.

That was some years ago. In accordance to the blessings of the Universe, I no longer work as a nurse in a facility where people no  longer remember anything except their hatred for any ethnicity that differs from their own. For all I know, crows may  or may not continue to predict death with noteworthy accuracy.

3 responses to “Halloween Humpday: Murder on the Roof

  1. Oh!
    How incredibly creepy!
    And sad too…I’ve read that crows and ravens do see death approaching & that
    Ravens are called Abu Zahjir ‘father of omens’ because they could detect decay way before the person died.

    Thank you for posting my friend:)
    Don’t forget I need your address so I can send you a crystal

  2. I don’t find your story far fetched at all. We’ve got our own crow link with death story in our family. It’s said a crow flies over and calls your name when it’s near your time to die. My gran told us she’d died soon because she’d heard the crow call her and wanted to let us know which hymns she wanted sung etc at her funeral. My mum got quite annoyed and told her not to be so morbid. My gran died the next day. At her funeral I was telling the tale to a family member I’d not seen for ages. She went white and said the exact same thing had happen with her gran (my grans sister) but they’d not told anyone because it seemed too weird.

    There are some very old tales that crows and ravens pass between this life and beyond carrying souls of the departed with them.

    Happy Haunted Humpday
    J x

  3. Lady Marfi and Lady J, I am so pleased that you both stopped by. I do agree that crows can smell death as people can predict when people are on Death’s threshold. My brother has been through 3 relatives’ dying. After the first died, my brother said, “I know the signs. I see the signs.” just before the Reaper came for the other two.My brother is a Capricorn, a sign, I believe, that is governed by Saturn, which is associated with Death. He has become the caretaker of the dead in our immediate family because he has the strength to deal with the paperwork.

This space is reserved for nice comments. This is not the crazy reader's comment box.

